Reason, Season and Forever

“People come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime.
When you figure out which one it is,
you will know what to do for each person.

When someone is in your life for a REASON,
it is usually to meet a need you have expressed.
They have come to assist you through a difficulty;
to provide you with guidance and support;
to aid you physically, emotionally or spiritually.
They may seem like a godsend, and they are.
They are there for the reason you need them to be.

Then, without any wrongdoing on your part or at an inconvenient time,  this person will say or do something to bring the relationship to an end.
Sometimes they die. Sometimes they walk away.
Sometimes they act up and force you to take a stand.
What we must realize is that our need has been met, our desire fulfilled; their work is done.
The prayer you sent up has been answered and now it is time to move on.

Some people come into your life for a SEASON,
because your turn has come to share, grow or learn.
They bring you an experience of peace or make you laugh.
They may teach you something you have never done.
They usually give you an unbelievable amount of joy.
Believe it. It is real. But only for a season.

LIFETIME relationships teach you lifetime lessons;
things you must build upon in order to have a solid emotional foundation.
Your job is to accept the lesson, love the person,
and put what you have learned to use in all other relationships and areas of your life.
It is said that love is blind but friendship is clairvoyant.”Unknown

================================================

In finishing up our Relationship month, I thought this poem really drove it home for me. 

I have always loved this poem.  It has helped me over the years understand the different relationships and friendships I have had – especially when I’m struggling to figure out why a special relationship has ended.

Over the years I’ve made many, many friends – many of which are still in my life – and many, many more have moved on – or more accurately moved through my life.  Some of those friendships ended when the school year ended or when the job ended or when I’ve moved or when I’ve changed or they’ve changed.  

The key to relationships – that I’ve learned – is to understand that everyone in my life is there for a reason. Some teach me patience, some teach me generosity, kindness, empathy and compassion, joy, passion, humility, gratitude, and ultimately unconditional love

Living a ‘Balanced Life’ means balancing what I’m there to learn from each relationship and what I’m there to offer  each relationship.  Then I need to let go of the desire to hold on!

That’s the hardest part – the letting go!  It’s not always easy to get over your feelings for someone when a relationship ends.  In the past I worried it was something I must have done or said that caused the breakup – whether is was a romantic relationship or a friendship.

Now, I understand or at least accept, that not all relationships are meant to last forever.  Some are for a Reason.  Some are for a Season.  And, only a precious few ….. are for Forever!

Tell us about your relationships.  Who have been your best teachers?  We’d love to hear from you!

‘Here’s to living a Heart-Centered Life’ tm

 

 

This entry was posted in Happiness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reason, Season and Forever

  1. Elemental says:

    Oh, so true. It’s interesting how help can come from a complete stranger; those Reasons come and go quickly but the memory can last a long time. That Reason can change your whole day; it can turn a bad day into a Good Day or even an Awesome Day. Remember to smile and say hello to everyone and anyone, that simple act of recognition, of kindness, can change a life; even save one.

    Like

    • Heart-Centered Life says:

      Thanks for that reminder about smiling and saying hello to everyone! I know for myself – a smile from a complete stranger, on a bad day, has completely turned things around for me sometimes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

