I Didn’t Do It

I Didn't do It

“Have you any idea how many children it takes to turn off one light in the kitchen?  Three. It takes one to say,  ‘What light’ and two more to say I didn’t turn it on .”  – Erma Bombeck

 

 

Please close the front door, empty the litter box, put your shoes away,  fill in your own blank!  In my house it’s the dishes in the sink and it’s always, ‘That’s not my dish’! 

As parents, one of our jobs is to teach our kids responsibility and accountability – and to learn how to be self-sufficient. 

One of the biggest mistakes we can make is doing things for them that they’re capable of doing themselves.  Yes – sometimes it’s easier to do ourselves than battling and sometimes it’s easier because it takes less time

I’ve lost count on how many times I’ve cleaned a bowl, put away shoes, hung up a jacket and even made lunch for my teenagers.  But unless we want to ‘parent’ our kids into their old age and ours – we need to give them the opportunity to take on new chores and responsibilities! 

So, what do you do when nobody is claiming ownership?  Well – most of the time I make them work it out themselves.  They’ve used ‘Rock-Paper-Scissors’, flipping a coin, and ‘lively discussions’.  The end result is that the chore gets done and I’m happy!

Plus they’ve learned peaceful solutions and natural consequences, because if it doesn’t get resolved it means the loss of something important to them. 

No clean dishes?  No meal until they’re done! No clean room?  No hanging out with friends until it’s done!  And so on ….

Living a ‘Balanced Life’ means having an unlimited supply of patience when it comes to parenting coupled with the impatience we sometimes feel that they’d just grow up already!

Tell us what things your kids don’t do!  We love to hear your comments!

Here’s to Living a Heart-Centered Life!

Don’t forget to join us Friday, July 13th. at 10am PST at Heart-Centered Life radio show when I interview Ann Morgan James on her parenting tips relating to raising a self-sufficient kid! 

 
 

This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Didn’t Do It

  1. NCLL says:

    How timely is this? There are no accidents in life, at least I believe this to be true, I’ll be facilitating a Parenting Workshop in a couple of weeks so when I read this M&M I just had to laugh and at the same time reflect on my 13 year old twins. Not to long ago, when they were three, they woke me up at three in the morning covered from head to toe in shampoo, skin cream, toothpaste and baby powder. Somehow they managed to get into our bathroom and the trail of evidence went from there to their bedroom to our bedroom. They had such a huge smile on their face that I all I could do was laugh, I quickly grabbed my camera and shot away so I could one day show them. When went back to get their mother, who was still in bed and oblivious of anything that had gone on, all she said was “Are they alive, then fill me in in the morning”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

