Redefining ‘Normal’

“No matter how calmly you try to referee, parenting will eventually produce bizarre behavior, and I’m not talking about the kids. Their behavior is always normal.” – Bill Cosby

 

Ok – I admit it.  I’ve probably exhibited some strange behavior as a parent – at least strange for me.  Before I had kids I was a even-tempered, mild-mannered, down-to-earth person. 

 

But somehow the sight of ‘poop’ all over the walls from ‘The Diaper Genie’ exploration and another occasion when my 4-yr. old twins covered themselves (and the bathroom) head to toe in toothpaste and shampoo (see photo) –  sent me to the ‘dark-side’. 
(my twins are now 13 – Lord help me!)

The question is how do we keep our cool in the face of children exhibiting ‘normal’ behavior?   

HUMOR!!!  Which is why I’m such a fan of Erma Bombeck and Bill Cosby!

Living a ‘Balanced Life’ means finding the humor in situations.  You may not feel like laughing in the moment (especially at 4am when these pictures were taken) – but if you can ask yourself  ‘how will I feel about this years from now’ – you’ll realize this will probably be a very funny story to tell one day

Tell us your Funny Stories and your own Bizarre Behavior!  Let’s all have a laugh together!

‘Here’s to Living a Heart-Centered Life’!

This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Redefining ‘Normal’

  1. NCLL says:

    Yeah, I remember that, I took that picture and the many that followed that night as well. One thing I also look at or think about, and perhaps it’s because I’m an actor as well, it’s how funny these scenes would be if I was seeing them in a movie or television show. Jesse, our son, loves to watch AFV, America’s Funniest Videos, and some of the things kids get shot doing are hilarious, more so when you can personally relate to it. I understand that we can be frustrated, have a really bad day at the office or some other “no-sense” that puts us off but regardless of the kind of day we may be experiencing we need to remember that a child is expressing his or her true nature so stop, look and remember you were there once too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

